NC(V): Information Technology & Computer Science

About the programme:
The National Certificate (Vocational) offers Grade 9 learners a vocational alternative to an academic Grade 10-12 by offering specialised training on NQF levels 2-4.
If you would like to qualify with a specialised NQF level 4 certificate that will enable you to find relevant employment once qualified, the National Certificate (Vocational) is for you.
If you enjoy working with computers, this NCV Information Technology programme will give you a foot into the 21st century.  IT is a critical part of our modern world and provides a vast choice of lucrative career opportunities.
How is the programme structured?
The National Certificate (Vocational) is a three year qualification at NQF Levels 2, 3 and 4.
All National Certificate (Vocational) programmes consist of a fundamentals learning component and a vocational component and comprise 130 credits on each level.
What will I learn?
The Fundamental subjects (Levels 2,3,4) are:
  • English First Additional Language
  • Life Skills and Computer Literacy
  • Mathematics

 The Vocational subjects for the National Certificate (Vocational) Information Technology are:

  • Introduction to Information Systems (Level 2)
  • Electronics (Level 2)
  • Introduction to Systems Development (Level 2)
  • Systems Analysis and Design (Levels 3,4 )
  • Computer hardware and Software (Level 3)
  • Principles of Computer Programming (Level 3)
  • Data Communication and Networking (Level 4)
  • Computer Programming (Level 4)
  • Multi media L2, L3, L4

Introduction to Information Systems (Level 2)
This subject provides the student with the necessary understanding of the value that information systems add to the business organisation & economy. It also deals with the various components of information systems; input, output and secondary hardware.
Electronics (Level 2)
This subject covers the safe use of electrical equipment, handheld electrical test equipment and the care thereof. It teaches learners about the construction of basic electronic circuits and their measurement. Learners are introduced to basic programmable logic controllers and advances in technology within in the Telecommunications and Information Technology fields.
Introduction to Systems Development (Level 2)
This subject teaches the student about computer software development, computer programming and data storage. It also covers the Internet and the World-Wide –Web.
Systems Analysis and Design (Levels 3, 4)
This subject teaches the student how information systems support the various departments in a business organisation, how to conduct an organisational systems analysis and the design and implementation and maintenance of information systems.
Computer Hardware and Software (Level 3)
This practical subject gives the student the know how to provide technical assistance for both hardware and software of the computer.

The learner is required to build a PC or hand held computer, install and fix hardware and software errors. Preventative maintenance and safety issues in the computer environment are also part of the programme.
Principles of Computer Programming (Level 3)
This subject teaches the student how to use the principles of computer programming and electronic logic to design a computer programme. Error handling in a computer programming environment is also covered.
Data Communication and Networking (Level 4)
This subject focuses on the computer network environment, computer architectures and standards. This subject requires the learner, to design, install, apply software and support a local area computer network (LAN).
Computer Programming (Level 4)
This subject deals with the designing and programming of well-tested and user-friendly computer-based solutions to meet specific requirements. The student is required to plan a database to provide solutions to a given problem, abstract data and provide a report as the project requires. The learner will also design and build a website using simple HTML.
Office Data Processing (Level 2,3,4)
Data processing equips students with details required to accurately set up letters and other office documents. Typing skills also forms a key aspect of this subject.
What are the entrance requirements?
The minimum entrance requirement for the National Certificate (Vocational) at Level 2 on the NQF is a Grade 9 Certificate or Level 1 equivalent.
How do I enrol?
You will be required to complete a Career, Maths and English assessment test in order to apply for this programme. Contact the campus to book an assessment.

What campus is this course offered?
This programme is offered at Khayelitsha and Fish Hoek Campuses