College Council External Members

Z Lonja - Chairperson

Ms Z Lonja is a University graduate currently employed by Western Cape Education Department (WCED). She has worked in different departments within the public sector which have provided her with a sound understanding of all public sector and municipality laws, policies and regulations. Ms Lonja has participated in numerous workshops and seminars that outlined processes to be followed when planning for the delivery of services to local communities. She has coordinated strategic & operational planning meetings that ensure effective and efficient process for the realization of the outcomes of the department or unit by all team members.

Ms Z Lonja has played an instrumental part in the following forums: Led Youth & Students (ANC Youth League), Khayelitsha Development Forum (KDF), Khayelitsha District Hospital Committee, Department of Social Development and Western Cape Education Department.

Key to her experience, is the deeper understanding of working for different clients with different teams. She has developed an ability to work as a team member, maintaining sound and working relations with all her colleagues, senior and junior, consistently delivering the outputs as outlined in her Key Performance Areas. Ms Lonja’s passion is the success of a young person through education, by doing so, breaking the cycle of poverty among families and producing more role models.

J Favish - Chairperson: Planning & Resource Committee

Ms Judith Favish was Director: Institutional Planning at the University of Cape Town from 2003 – 2016 when she retired. Her responsibilities included monitoring, facilitating and promoting social responsiveness; strategic and academic planning; and quality assurance. She was the co-convener of a task team responsible for implementing a Memorandum of Understanding signed between four universities in the province and the provincial government. She holds a Postgraduate Diploma in Policy, Leadership and Management in Higher Education from the University of the Western Cape, an Honours in Applied Linguistics from the University of the Witwatersrand, and an MA in Adult and Continuing Education from the University of Warwick (UK). She was a member of the Higher Education Quality Committee (HEQC) from 2005 – 2012, a member of the Accreditation Committee from 2013-2014, and a member of the Institutional Audit Committee of the HEQC from 2008 - 2016.
She currently serves on the Academic Advisory Committee of Tsiba, a not-for-profit College. She has served as a member of three NRF panels evaluating applications for the NRF Community Engagement Fund and was a member of a national task team constituted by the Council on Higher Education that has prepared a 20-year review of community engagement in South Africa as part of a 20-year review of higher education. She has a number of publications on engaged scholarship.  Currently she is employed as a fellow in the Poverty and Inequality Initiative, based at the University Cape Town, where she is helping to prepare for a national conference on poverty and inequality involving government, NGOs, and various universities.

A Komeni

Mr Amos Komeni is the councillor for subcouncil 10 and member of the Safety and Security Committee.

N Mjenxane

Mr N Mjenxane is responsible for advising Members of Parliament and Committees on how to best execute their constitutional obligations of exercising oversight over the Executive, make laws and facilitating public participation. Mr Mjenxane is especially active in the portfolio committee on correctional services on how to best perform its constitutional and legal functions.
Mr Mjenxane is a member of the Cape Law Society, Law Society of the Northern Provinces and Attorney of the High Court of South Africa; member of the Legal Advisors Forum; member of the Environmental Lawyers Association; and engaged in the International Association of Environmental Assessors.

C Kemp - Chairperson: Human Resources

Ms Charlene Kemp is an experienced HR Practitioner and Manager with over 29 years’ experience. She is a seasoned facilitator of leadership development interventions at all levels within a business.
A strategic planning facilitator as well as facilitator of inter-personal dynamics, she is able to provide executive coaching services to corporate and individual clients. Ms Kemp is further more an experienced change management consultant working across numerous industries. She regularly consulted and referenced for her current industry knowledge.

A Watkins - Chairperson: Audit & Risk Committee

Mr Alan Watkins attained his professional qualification as a Chartered account in 1983, while completing his accountancy traineeship with Coopers & Lybrand. Mr Watkins then proceeded to work for numerous organisations, growing his portfolio of clients serviced. 2013 saw Mr Watkins entering the education sector, and was soon thereafter seconded by South African Institute of Chartered Accountants (SAICA) to support the CFO of False Bay TVET College which at the time was evolving into a State Owned Organisation. Mr Watkins is passionate about giving back, and as such sits on 5 trusts and is treasurer for Lifesaving Western Cape.

R Wilson

Ms Renecia Wilson is an entrepreneur and the Managing Director of both her companies namely Easy Capture and Fabuleux Youth Development. She is principled, ambitious, energetic, hardworking, enthusiastic person who believes in Interdependency. She seeks to inspire the youth to explore their dreams by becoming an admirable example within her networks. Ms Wilson is actively involved in Youth Development projects in the Western Cape Province and National and is a member of the South African Youth Council and the African Youth Union.

D Qually - Chairperson: Finance Committee

Demetri Qually is an Alderman of the City of Cape Town having served as a councillor for 20 years, including being a member of the Mayoral Committee for Corporate Services, Subcouncil Chairperson and chairperson for SALGA Western Cape.

His election to the board is further bolstered by years of experience in governance structures of public FET institutions, local government and private enterprise.

An analytical thinker with a Diploma in Business Management, Demetri Qually is an experienced strategic planner and has extensive knowledge of the TVET sector.  He is very active in both formal and informal education structures and has gained a holistic understanding of linkages between the world of work and the post schooling sector.

L Rani

Mr. Luvuyo Rani has recently been nominated as one of twelve 2016 Social Entrepreneurship winners by the Schwarb Foundation for Social Entrepreneurship. He is managing director at Silulo Ulutho Technologies and is also the winner of the 2007/2008 Cape Time/KPMG editor’s award for business excellence. Mr Rani has completed a Bachelor of Technology Degree in Business Administration (Btech Bus. Admin.) and Commercial Education (Btech Education). He has worked for Edcon, a clothing, footwear and textiles retailing group, as a credit controller. Furthermore, he obtained four years of experience as a teacher at Kwamfundo Secondary School.

Mr. Luvuyo Rani also studied Associate in Management at the University Of Cape Town Graduate School of Business. Next to his dedication to Silulo Luvuyo is a founder of the Ekasi Business Network. Mr Rani has just been selected as one of the 2014 JCI Ten Outstanding Young Person of the World.